windshield replacement school

Discuss all aspects of windshield replacement, including techniques, billing, etc.
jwaldrop

Post by jwaldrop »

I am from the West Texas area and I am trying to get information on a school or class on windshield replacment here in Texas. Anyone with information please let me know
StarQuest

Post by StarQuest »

Jwaldrop,

Just wanted to share my experiences with you in glass replacement. I started out a glass repair shop 8 years ago without ever replacing one windshield. Believe me, it isn't something you can just take a one week class and become good at! Even though I was a franchise business owner and received 4 weeks of training with glass replacement....I still had to learn the hard way. Every car and truck is different. The only way to get into this business is to hire a master, learn all his techniques and work with him as a apprentice for 1-2 years. In my business that meant paying somebody $15-$18 (8 hours a day). After two years I spent over $70,000 holding on to a master tech to learn from. I myself consider myself to be a master tech these days. Truthfully though, I'd make much more money being a master repair tech. My advice....is to stick with glass repair! Not enough profits in replacement these days.

Only my opinion.....good luck with your decisions!

Keith
Coitster
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Local Person

Post by Coitster »

I absolutly agree with Starquest. I owned a replacement company for years. Personaly I had to train for 6 months to where I felt comfertable replaceing any windshield. However insurance companies have totaly destroyed all the profit out of the replacement industry. The only way you can make money now replaceing is if you spend hundreds of thousands of dollars buying glass buy the container from overseas and stockpile it.